

PEIKMFA Award Winners 2023

We are delighted to announce the award winners for the PEI Kiwanis Music Festival, 2023!

There are three categories:

- 1. Festival Awards
- 2. Special Awards for Senior and Advanced performers
- 3. Senior and Advanced Performers recommended to progress to the National Festival in July and August.

Congratulations to all award winners!

1. FESTIVAL AWARDS:

<u>Junior</u>

Neilina Ning Junior Voice Lorna Knox Award

Shek Man Ferdinand Tam Junior Piano Linkletter Music Studio Award

Evan Zhang Junior Strings Faye Doucette Award

Neilina Ning Junior Musical Theatre Lorna Knox Award

Intermediate

Katie Grandy Intermediate Voice PEI Women's Institute Award

Leo Li Intermediate Piano Jean and Wesley MacPhee Music Award

Sophie Phelan Intermediate Strings Dr. Frances McBurnie Award

Adia Laureijs Intermediate Musical Theatre Kiwanis Club of Charlottetown Award

Matilda Brothers Intermediate Woodwind Judy Reilly Award

Senior

Isabella Butler Senior Voice Ruby MacWilliams Award

Tony (Yuxuan) Liang Senior Piano Ruby MacWilliams Award

Keili Johnston Senior Strings Kiwanis Club of Charlottetown Award

Samel Sunil Senior Musical Theatre Lea Beaton Award

Xiaotian (Ellery) Yu Senior Woodwind Kiwanis Club of Charlottetown Award

Seth Cudmore-Gallant Senior Brass PEI Mutual Insurance Company Award

Jason Chen Senior Organ Lea Beaton Award

Advanced

Emi Smith Advanced Voice University Women's Club of Charlottetown

Olivia Zhang Advanced Piano Adeline Peters Ledwell Award
Alice Cheng Advanced Strings Lorin and Estelle Drake Award

Allegra Wright Advanced Musical Theatre Diane Campbell Award

Olive MacPhail Advanced Brass Professor Dale Sorensen Award

Devyn Collette Advanced Woodwind Lea Beaton Award

Choirs and ensembles

West Kent Glee Choir (G5/6) Elementary School Choir Helen Lawson Memorial Award

Sibbick Sibling Singers Small Ensemble Hester Suppanz Award

Hillcrest United Youth Choir Large Ensemble Hester Suppanz Award

2. SENIOR AND ADVANCED LEVEL SPECIAL AWARDS:

Rena Wood Scholarship: Timothy Luk

Louise and Mildred Callbeck Award: Olive MacPhail

PEI Registered Music Teachers Association Award: Madison Power-Lockman

William K. Rogers Award: Jacob Reddin
PEIKMFA President's Award: Olive MacPhail

UPEI Department of Music Plaque: Melissa Lewis

Under the Spire Music Festival Awards: Olivia Zhang, Samel Sunil, and Jacob Reddin.

3. RECOMMENDATIONS FOR NATIONAL FESTIVAL

The following people have been recommended to progress forward to the National Music Festival. More details about what this involves will be sent to you all separately soon.

Developing Artist Stream

Vocal – Isabella Butler and James Ronahan

Musical Theatre – Samel Sunil and Isabella Butler (Alternate – Adia Laureijs)

Brass - Seth Cudmore-Gallant

Piano - Tony Liang and Jenny Somers

Strings - Keili Johnston and Alix Lowe

Emerging Artist Stream:

Musical Theatre - Sadie Ghiz and Allegra Wright

Brass - Olive MacPhail and Jacob Reddin

Piano - Timothy Luk and Olivia Zhang

Woodwind - Devyn Collette and Madison Power-Lockwood